Wednesday, August 05, 2015

2015 Annual General Meeting News

THRAC 2015 Annual Meeting was held at Taiwanese United Church in Toronto on June 20. About 20 members attended, along with Sheng Xue (盛雪) from the Federation for a Democratic China (中國民主聯盟主席) and Jamyang Tenzin, from Students for a Free Tibet. Rev. Moses Wu served as master of ceremonies. A generous table of refreshments was contributed by members, co-ordinated by Lin Pi-ling.


The meeting received work and financial reports and approved a proposal to financially support training in non-violent social transformation in Hong Kong. Two resolutions were passed – “Ending the death penalty in Taiwan” 呼籲台灣廢除死刑 and a “Renewed Call for Pardon for Chen Shui-bian” 特赦陳水扁決議案 2015.

The meeting elected the 2015 Executive Committee, which met on July 4 to assign roles.

The THRAC 2015 Executive Committee is:
Yeh Ming Tai 葉明泰 (New member) Webmaster
Edward Chung 鍾雅澤 Membership
Hsu Ching Fang 許菁芳 Secretary
N.L. Treasurer
Michael Stainton 史邁克 Treasurer
Austin Yan 顏立哲 (Corresponding Member) Assisting Webmaster