Monday, March 19, 2012

THRAC New Executive Committee

The THRAC Annual Meeting on March 10 was attended by about 60 people. The new executive committee list of nominees was elected, but we failed to obtain a  successful nominations for an additional women member. The annual meeting  empowered the Executive Committee to add an additional woman member when such a candidate is found.  The new Executive Committee has not yet met to assign specific responsibilities to members. The members are:

Nick Chen 陳孟廷 Nick has been an active  member of THRAC since 2010 and was service team leader for the March 10 events.  He is graduating from McMaster in Biochemical Engineering in April.  New member.

N.L. – N. has been a member of Amnesty International since 2008 where she helped organize various human rights campaigns. Through her participation in Formosa Foundation training programs, N. gained great experience in working for Taiwan and human rights. New member

Dr. Scott Simon (in Ottawa) – Scott is  professor of sociology and anthropology at University of Ottawa, and director of the University of Ottawa Taiwan Studies Program. New member.

Rev. Michael Stainton Michael has been a member of THRAC since 1992 and President since 2007.  

So Cheng-hian 蘇正玄 Cheng-hian has been a member of THRAC since 1992 and served on the board for many years. He does all of THRAC’s Chinese statements and translation work.

Austin Yan 顏立哲 – Austin has been on the THRAC board for the past two years, serving as vice-president and and MC during the annual meetings. He’s a McMaster University student in his third year of studies, and developed THRAC’s website.